top of page

Sam Winter is born


It's early morning Monday and I just finished running errands after working all night. I should be sleeping but instead I decided to begin writing a new mystery novel. Sam Winter is an Investigative Reporter for The Chestbut Grove Gazette. Chestnut Grove is a small fictional town.

When I started writing the Tony Gavel series I knew what I wanted to do with him and began writing.

Now that I am 1/2 way done writing the third book and I am 1/3 of the way done on his fourth book I realized that there were a few things I wish I could change about his backstory. Since he is already established I can't mess up his past.

So Sam Winter started showing up in my head. With Sam, I can start fresh and put the ideas I had for Tony into his backstory from the beginning. I feel the changes I wanted to make would make for better story telling down the line.

Sam Winter has been stuck in my head for a few months now and I think it's about time he had his own story. I will most likely finish the third Tony Gavel novel but I think the fourth one that I started writing will be switched over to Sam and let him begin to tell his story.

I will probably finish the Sam Winter novel before I go back and finsh the last installment of the Tony Gavel series. I love Tony and everything he has done for me. He was my first real attempt at writing and I sold a bunch of books from the two novels I wrote about him. I got good reviews from my Tony books and I plan on using what I learned with Tony to make Sam that much better.

I hope you enjoy Sam as much as I like writing about him.

To be continued...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page